Go From Tourist, To New Yorker

BE NY has grown from the love for New York City. It’s the result of the passion of Belgians for New York, and their outspoken desire to share the uniqueness of this wonderful metropolis with fellow nationals. Patrick van Rosendaal developed the idea and came across likeminded people who are just as hung up on the intriguing, energetic life, awesome architecture and incredible divers character of America’s larges society. Together they builded a platform where every visitor get’s a fantastic experience. Whether they are on a business trip, a group travel or a family vacation, every BE NY’er will get enchanted by this endlessly exciting city.

Patrick Van Rosendaal

Founder BE New York

Patrick van Rosendaal is an alumnus of the prestigious Vlerick business school and had seen quite a few corners of the world before he decided to move to New York. As a former Parisian and Londoner, big city life no longer held any secrets. Then his life took an unexpected turn. Patrick followed his heart to the United States, but lost it to New York City. He promptly swapped his wedding ring for true love and settled down with Lady Liberty. A woman with limitless potential and tantalizing appeal. But also a true diva that would surely play hard to get.

It wasn’t long before Patrick’s interest in New York evolved into a real passion. The urge to share this passion with his countrymen further motivated his decision to become a professional tour guide. He successfully tackled the official exam and started his career as a tour guide on the famous Gray Line Buses and at Bike and Roll, the leading company for bike tours in New York City. During his time there, Patrick managed to gather and hone all the necessary skills that would prove invaluable during the process of setting up his own company, BE NY.

As an official member of GANYC, the prestigious professional tour guide association, Patrick has already worn out 3 vespa’s and a multitude of shoes on his many miles of exploratory journeys through the city. His tour guide company BE NY has had the pleasure of welcoming well over ten thousand visitors to New York. It led Patrick to proclaim that he is blessed with the best job in the world.

 

Fun fact:  De Empire State Building is so big that it has its own zip code, namely 10118.

Mandy

Belgian NY'er

As an excellent photographer Mandy has a keen eye for detail. And she loves to share those details on her tours. Be sure to pick her brain about the best photo opportunity locations for that perfect holiday memory. Mandy Demuth

Fun fact:  39% of all 911 calls in New York are involuntary 'pocket dials'.

Lana

Belgian NY'er

This Belgian NY’er is the women behind Love Green, a wonderful website about green living in New York City. Lana loves to shower you with fun facts about her favorite city.

Fun fact:  New York only ranks around number 50 on the list of most dangerous cities in the US.

Koen

BE New Yorker

This born entertainer has earned his title as a true New Yorker. He knows the ins and outs of the city, both during the day as with respect to NYC’s vibrant nightlife. Koen manages a combination of activities in technology, photography, and tour guiding. koen.photos

Fun fact:  New York doesn't allow the serving of alcoholic beverages before noon on sunday.

Ineke

Belgian NY'er

Being a teacher and a passionate New Yorker makes Ineke your perfect BE NY trainer. A tour with her is guaranteed to make you want to come back.

Fun fact:  5.3 million people use the New York subway system on a daily basis.

Geert

Belgian NY'er

As ghostwriter of the book BE NY, this New Yorker was able to combine two passions. He will happily smother you with huge amounts of interesting facts, neat places and awesome tips.

Fun fact:  Next to half of all New Yorkers age 5 and older speaks another language besides English.

Become a BE NY’er too!

Vacancy

Are you Belgian? With a passion for NY? Do you feel like sharing your passion with your fellow countrymen? Send your resume to info@beny.be

Fun fact:  The first BE NY'er was Peter Minuit who bought the island of Manhattan in 1626 from the Indians.

Go From Tourist, To New Yorker

BE NY est né d’une histoire d’amour avec la ville de New York. C’est le résultat de la passion de Belges pour cette ville extraordinaire, et l’expression de leur volonté de faire participer des compatriotes à la découverte des particularités uniques de cette métropole. Patrick van Roosendaal  a donné forme à cette idée et a réussi à trouver son chemin au sein de cette immense communauté aux origines diverses qui partagent les rues et les recoins de la ville, dans une animation constante, entourée des témoins d’une architecture qu’on ne retrouve nulle part ailleurs. Ensemble, les New-Yorkais ont créé une immense plate-forme dans laquelle les visiteurs peuvent partager une expérience unique. Dans ce cadre, qu’il s’agisse d’un voyage d’affaires, d’une découverte en groupe ou de vacances familiales, chacun BE NY‘er est assuré d’une immersion au sein du bouillonnement humain et culturel de cette ville exceptionnelle.

Patrick Van Rosendaal

Guide et dirigeant de BE NY

Patrick Van Rosendaal est un ancien étudiant de la prestigieuse école de commerce « Vlerick ». Il avait déjà rencontré beaucoup de (beau) monde avant de venir s’installer à New York. Patrick est un globe-trotter. C’est Anversois a aussi habité Londres et Paris. Il est dans les grandes villes comme un poisson dans l’eau. Mais la vie réserve quelquefois des surprises. Et Patrick a écouté la voix de son cœur pour s’installer aux États-Unis et plus précisément à New York. Les choses de la vie lui ont fait troquer une alliance contre le grand amour avec lady Liberty. Une femme qui brave les ans et cultive un potentiel d’attractivité inépuisable. C’est aussi une femme jalouse qui a décidé un jour de ne pas le laisser partir.

Il n’a pas fallu longtemps pour que l’intérêt de Patrick pour New York évolue en une passion réelle. Il a toujours aimé partager ses émotions, ses coups de cœur, et sa passion pour les grandes villes. Il a donc décidé un jour d’en faire son métier. Et pour faire les les choses de manière professionnelle, il s’est préparé à passer avec succès les examens pour devenir un guide officiel new-yorkais. Il a pris des contacts fructueux avec les fameux bus Gray Line et avec le loueur de vélos Bike en Roll,  pour créer de toutes pièces un modèle de découverte touristique hors du commun.

En tant que guide officiel membre du GANYC,  la prestigieuse association professionnelle des guides touristiques, il a épuisé trois Vespa et usé un nombre incalculable de paires de chaussures en parcourant des milliers de kilomètres à New York jusqu’à connaître la ville comme sa poche.

Patrick et son équipe s’occupent maintenant d’accueillir des dizaines de milliers de visiteurs pour partager avec eux des moments exceptionnels. Et cela sans la moindre lassitude. Il le dit il répète : « j’ai la chance d’exercer le plus beau métier du monde ! »

Anecdote amusante :  L’Empire State Building est si grands qu'il a son propre code postal : 10118 !

Mandy

Belgian NY'er

Comme photographe excellente, Mandy a l’ oeil pour le détail. Et elle aime partager ces détails avec vous pendant ca tours. Pour des locations photogénique ou des photos de vacances idéales pour Facebook, vous êtes au bon endroit chez elle. Mandy Demuth

Anecdote amusante :  39% de tous les appels 911 à New York sont des ‘pocket dials’.

Lana

Belgian NY'er

Ce NY’er belge est la femme derrière Love Green, un beau site avec plein d’anecdotes vert sur New York City. Lana parle avec plaisir hors de son ville préférée. Préparez-vous à une avalanche de faits amusants.

Anecdote amusante :  Sur la liste des villes les plus dangereuses des États-Unis, New York est seulement en 50e place.

Koen

Belgian NY'er

Cet artiste né, comme d’autres BE NY’ers ses galons bien mérités. Il connaît les ficelles dans la Big Apple, pendant la jour mais aussi la vie nocturne. Koen combine une vie bien remplie dans la technologie avec la photographie et faire des tours pour BE NY. koen.photos

Anecdote amusante :  En NYC on ne peut pas servir de l'alcool le dimanche avant midi.

Ineke

Belgian NY'er

Comme professeur et passionné New Yorker, Ineke est parfaitement placé pour vous conduire à pure BE NY’er. Votre visite est un succès garanti.

Anecdote amusante :  Chaque jour 5,3 millions de personnes utilisent le métro en New York.

Geert

Belgian NY'er

Comme co-auteur du livre BE NY, Geert pourrait combiner son deux véritables passions. Il vous offre beaucoup de plaisir de nombreux faits et adresses intéressantes.

Anecdote amusante :  Près de la moitié de tous les New Yorkers âgés de plus de cinq ans parlent l'anglais et une autre langue.

Deviens aussi BE NY’er!

Poste Vacante

Belge? Passion pour New York? Vous voulez partager votre passion avec ressortissants? Envoyez votre CV à info@beny.be

Anecdote amusante :  La première BE NY'er était Peter Minuit, qui a acheté l'île de Manhattan en 1626 des Indiens.